History History

Indo-Seychelles relations have been characterized by close friendship, understanding and cooperation.  Diplomatic ties were established with Seychelles at its independence (1976), but the links go back even earlier.  An Indian naval ship INS Nilgiri was one of those, docked in Victoria harbour, along with French, British and Iranian ships to welcome Independence of Seychelles on 29 June 1976.  An Indian Mission was established in 1979 in Victoria with the High Commissioner based in Dar-es-Salaam concurrently accredited to Seychelles.  The first resident High Commissioner was placed in Victoria in 1987, while Seychelles opened its resident Mission in New Delhi in 2008 with HE Mr.Dick Esparon  as its first High Commissioner. 


The following is the list of Indian High Commissioners posted to Seychelles since inception of diplomatic ties between the two countries:-


Previous High Commissioners of India to Seychelles:

Non Residents         

From  -  To

Air Chief Marshall Arjan Singh  01.07.1976- 29.07.1977
H.E. Mr. Aditya Narajan Dhairyasheel Haksar 30.07.1977-06.10.1980
H.E. Mr.Alfred S. Gonsalves 07.10.1980-15.03.1982
H.E. Shri. Preet MohanSingh Malik 16.03.1982-19.03.1984
H.E. Mr. Chandershekhar Dasgupta 20.03.1984-23.10.1986
H.E. Mr.Hardev Bhalla 24.10.1986-30.11.1987


From  -  To

H.E. Mrs. Chokila Iyer 01.12.1987-18.10.1990
H.E. Mr.ChikkaRachappa Balachandra 11.02.1992-16.02.1995
H.E. Mr. Pranab Mukhopadhyay 13.06.1995-31.01.1997
H.E. Mr.River O`Nell Wallang 11.09.1997-15.05.2001
H.E. Mr. Malay Mishra  29.05.2001-20.06.2004
H.E. Mr. Arun Kumar Goel 06.09.2004-18.02.2008
H.E. Mr.Asit Kumar Nag 05.04.2008-31.07.2011
H.E. Mr. Thanglura Darlong 09.08.2011 - 06.06.2014
H.E. Mr. Sanjay Panda 12.08.2014 – 08.11.2016
H.E. Dr. Ausaf Sayeed 17.02.2017 – Till date
2017-03-23 17:34:03
Go to Navigation